February 2019   
Pastors who have served Ss. Peter and Paul Church

The following is a list of Pastors who have served Ss. Peter and Paul Church, Towanda:

Before Towanda had a resident pastor, the Catholic faithful were served by priests from St. Joseph, Susquehanna County.  They were:

Rev. Jeremiah O'Flynn (1825-1831)

Rev. William Clancy (1832-1837)

Rev. Henry Fitzsimmons (1837-1845): the original wood frame church building was constructed in 1841 as a mission at the site of the current brick church building.

Rev. John Vincent O'Reilly (1845-1848)

Ss. Peter and Paul Church was canonically erected as a parish of the Diocese of Philadelphia by Bishop Francis P. Kenrick with the assignment of a resident pastor in 1848.  It bears the same title, Ss. Peter and Paul, as the cathedral in Philadelphia.  The pastors follow:

Rev. Basil Shorb (1848-1849)

Rev. Jeremiah Ahearn (1849-1854)

Rev. John Doherty (1855-1859)

Various Franciscan Friars (1859-1863)

Rev. Michael Martin (1863)

Rev. Patrick Toner (1863-1876): the Diocese of Scranton was established March 3, 1868 by Blessed Pope Pius IX. The current brick church building was completed in 1869.  Fr. Toner became the first priest from the Scranton Diocese to be elevated to the honor of Domestic Prelate in 1887 by Pope Leo XIII with the title of "Monsignor."

Rev. Charles Kelly, S.J. (1876-1899): the church interior is furnished and the building is dedicated on December 14, 1879.

Rev. Joseph Coroner (1899-1912): current rectory at 106 Third Street built in 1904.

Rev. John Feeley (1912-1922)

Rev. Joseph McGuckin (1922-1938)

Rev. Peter Nolan (1938-1945)

Rev. Maurice Hughes (1945-1949)

Rev. Martin Maher (1949-1952)

Msgr. Joseph Griffin (1952-1967)

Msgr. Joseph Shaughnessy (1967-1969)

Rev. Charles O'Donnell (1969-1970)

Rev. Thomas Flynn (1970-1984)

Rev. Robert Brague (1984-1988)

Rev. Kevin Mulhern (1988-1992)

Rev. Richard Loch (1992-1996)

Rev. Ronald Hughes (1996-2005)

Rev. John Chmil (2005-2008)

Rev. Gregory Kelly, Administrator (2008-2009)

Rev. Martin Boylan (2009-2011)

Rev. Thomas Petro, Administrator (2011-2012)

Rev. Edward Michelini (2012-